Writing to write… finally

“Oh, Em, Gee, did we just become best friends?”

That’s what Melissa exclaimed as she peered into the box of goodies I bought today at the huge Friends of the Library annual book sale. Eleven books for $7.25, and all of them amazing finds.

(And yes, “Oh Em Gee” is how I speak now that I’m growing improbably close to 30. As I age, so does my speech regress.)

What was she so excited about? I’ll tell you what – the copy of Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way” that she spied, tucked in between “The Way of the Peaceful Warrior” and some compendium of American folklore.

I tried reading through Cameron’s spiritual creativity plan many years ago, thinking it was right up my alley. But since I was neither in a place that fostered spirituality, nor of the frame of mind to be particularly creative, the whole thing fell flat.

Then, as things happen, people started mentioning the book to me again. Mostly these are people who are the same as me, in the same predicament: loving to write/draw/paint/sculpt, but afraid to do so, shying away from criticism/failure/losing interest/running out of time, etc.

The idea, I guess, is to practice your creativity with no mind to outcomes. Do it to do it, because it pleases you, because it’s who you are.

Since I write all day – and pretty dry stuff – and read and edit other people’s work, the last thing I want to do when I come home is to write some more. Even if it does make my soul sing.

So here, I’ll dust off this WordPress blog and use it to document my progress in the 12 weeks of Cameron’s path.

(12 seems to be an awfully popular number in the spiritual realm.)

And I promise myself one thing: to try to do something every day, but to not consider it failing if I do not, or if I lose track.

Because someday, somewhere, somebody else will bring this up to me, and I will try again.

Leave a Reply

